Thankful Sunday: Friendships build character

Today is Sunday, a day of thanks. Not to discount the other days of the week, I suppose they have equal opportunity to be days of thanks.  Seeing as I was born and raised in a small town in the South, church attendance was a Sunday tradition.  Hence Sunday’s title as “day of thanks”.  So…… today I am thankful for friends.  Friends that you can share your inner most thoughts and desires with, as well as your strengths and weaknesses, and they love you in spite of/for them.  They are those that will laugh and cry with you. True friends hold your hand when you are low, and will conversely push you when you need to fly.  They ask nothing in return, only that they can count on you for the same. I am so blessed to have friends in my life.  Not your everyday acquaintances, the “Hi, how are you? Nice to see you.” relationships that you form within a community, but true connections, gems. 

A quote was shared with me today that really touched my heart. “It is an extraordinary thing, to meet someone who you can bare your soul to, and they’ll accept you for who you are.”  Today my friend and I shared the day watching our children play in the warmth of the March sun.  As I sit here reflecting on the experience, I am struck with the complexity in its simplicity.  Often, when you open the window to your soul, beauty swoops in to fill you with warmth.  My window was open today.  Thank you Vanessa for filling me with love.  Thank you to all of my friends who add so much to my life, layers of richness that I would not experience if it were not for you all.  You are each so very different.  Those differences are why I love you.  I feel it necessary to express my gratitude, so often it goes unsaid.  Perhaps I assume that others “know” how I feel, and that is sufficient.  The reality is that no one can read my mind.  Predict that I will do unpredictable things, well, probably, but these are thoughts that should be shared.  If I want to live to the fullest, experience life to its greatest capacity, honoring my relationships is paramount.

4 thoughts on “Thankful Sunday: Friendships build character

  1. This is beautiful! I’m sure I speak for all of your friends when I say that you are an irreplacable and extremely special person to share a soul journey with. So thankful to be friends! Keep up the great writing- so good at it!

  2. I have tears in my eyes and love in my heart! Thank you too, for your unconditional friendship and love…despite my aversion to exercise! haha! I feel very blessed to know you and your family.

  3. Such an honor to be counted among your friends. All the love you feel surrounding you is a reflection of what you consistently give to all of us.

Leave a Reply

