Leaving Demons Trail-Side

My head was unusually foggy, the kids were cranky, I needed an escape.  Escape from the nagging “things I need to be doing, but don’t want to do” list, and the lack of clarity clouding my brain like a San Fransisco fog.  The trails called and I answered.  I never regret a trail run.  The combo of nature and trail pounding motion sets my soul on fire.  It’s a damn shame that this potent combo of free therapy remains secret, tucked away from the rest of the self-medicating world.

While I do enjoy my solitary reign of the trails most of the time, it would be refreshing to see other restless souls out there hashing it out, leaving behind a path of sweat, tears, and frustration in their wake.  Maybe I am being somewhat presumptuous in thinking that this is a fix for everyone.  Perhaps it’s just me that’s slightly imbalanced…….on second thought, heck no it’s not! We all battle our own demons in some capacity.  Why not leave them out on the trail, thrown far from harm’s way?  Our amazingly capable bodies were designed for movement in this great big beautiful world around us.  Just move outside folks! It’s free and it’s easy.  Isn’t that what we like?

In a society of individuals looking for temporary escape, the answer is much closer than you think.  It is not at the bottom of a bottle, nor in that carton of ice cream.  Promise. 

*Feedback:  Do you agree that nature + exercise is a magic formula/has healing power? What is your favorite form of “self-medication”?

6 thoughts on “Leaving Demons Trail-Side

  1. I can relate! I prefer to walk most days than run (though some frustrations do require a good run!), but the woods always seem to fix my head better than anything when I feel like I’m about to lose it.

    • Yes! Speed doesn’t lend itself to “better therapy” in most cases…it is awesome to get out there and move in any capacity:) Thanks for reading and sharing!

  2. Absolutely I agree. Before kids, the trails were my sanctuary. With our lifestyle, its harder to get on them these days, but I never take a second of it for granted when I’m given the chance.

Leave a Reply

